top of page

Make New Friends: Karmynn Lustria

Preceding my interview with Karmynn Lustria, all I knew about her is that she was friends with some of my friends, and she has a hamburger backpack, so I had no clue what to ask her. At first, I was looking for information that was good for an article with one main point about her life, which is great and all, but once I began to ask more interesting, thought provoking questions to learn about her personality, I started to really get to know Karmynn and our interview morphed into a lovely conversation of people getting to know one another. After our interview, I was left with so much information about this wonderful person that I decided to compile some of my favorite questions to give you a glimpse into her beautiful personality.

What are some things that, either as a kid, or now, that you’re interested in?

Oh my gosh there's so many I can think of. Okay, this is one I’m actually kind of embarrassed to talk about because it’s a cartoon show but the show Steven Universe on Cartoon Network. Its what my backpack is from. I like that show a lot because its just really wholesome and there's a lot of good values in it.

If you could create the perfect day, what would it be?

Okay first the day would start with me having at least 8 hours of sleep and waking up at 8:00 or 9:00. Then I’d have a huge breakfast. Waffles or crepes, something like that. Some eggs, a very nice cup of coffee. Then, I would spend the whole day with the board of the Enloe Civil Liberties Alliance. It’s just a very fun group of people. So, spending the whole day with them. Going to a movie first, and then out to lunch, then back to somebody’s house and then just talking and listening to music, chilling out. That would be the perfect day.

What’s the most useless talent you have?

Ok I have two. I can roll my stomach (Karmynn then showed me how she rolls her stomach, and it’s pretty wacky) and I can jump over my own leg (which she showed me a video of, and it is extremely impressive).

Did you ever play a sport as a kid or have anything that you used to do that you lost interest in?

I took ballet and tap as a kid and I ran track and stuff, but I realized that it’s really hard for me to be committed in that kind of activity. So, I still exercise outside of school for my own personal fitness but I don’t think I could ever be on a sports team or something. I just feel like, for me, physical activity and stuff is a thing that keeps my body healthy. It’s fun and stuff when I do it, but I wouldn’t do it more than I had to. I prefer things that are more intellectual, that I can devote more of my time to.

Did you have pets growing up?

Sadly, no. Every year, I begged my parents to get a dog and we never did. It sucks. We had fish before though, and we had kind of a really cool tank but when we moved to a bigger house because my siblings and I were getting bigger, we couldn’t take the tank with us. But, I definitely plan on getting a dog though.

What are small things that make your day better?

I say probably the most constant small thing, honestly the only reason I still go to school, is just go see people. Senioritis has really hit me hard, I come home most days and think, “I really didn’t have to go to school,” but it’s nice walking around and just saying hi to everybody. I feel like it’s really small, just saying hi to everybody, but it’s really nice. All of those positive feelings you get from those interactions, it builds up and it’s like a really good thing.

Who’s your go to band or artist when you can’t decide who to listen to?

Right now, it would be Ariana Grande, big time.

What are you most looking forward to in the next 10 years?

So the next 4 years, that’s college. I’m so freaking excited for college. I’m just really excited to meet more people. Not necessarily new people because I love the people I know now and I would really like to see how my friendships grow. We’re all going to be a lot older and more mature and not brought down by high school and childhood so I’m excited for that.

I feel like growing up, I tried to get to know myself as best as I can because I don’t want to have like an identity crisis or something but I feel like thats just going to happen because it’s a part of growing up. But, I feel like the progress that I make in terms of getting to know myself and learning who I am is going to be massive in the next 10 years so I’m excited to see that.

What's one thing you hope never changes?

So in general, I hope the spirit of the younger generation never changes. To me, we are the future right now and after that, the next generation is the future so being in this generation and seeing how much progress we make is so motivating so I hope that never changes.

For me personally, I hope that my resilience never changes. I don’t think I would've ever gotten this far, being here and also the mindset that I have if I didn’t just like keep pushing on.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page